traveling

Bull Shoals, AR. 

Bull Shoals was the city that hosted my first camping trip. I had such a great time here. We stayed at a campsite and our lot was right on the bank of the White River. Every morning we woke up to the peaceful sounds of nature, from the river running to the birds chirping. We set up a hammock in the trees and relaxed every night after a barbecue. I learned how to play poker and make the most of a trip with no electronics.

The biggest part of our trip revolved around a 12-mile kayaking trip. The water was a freezing 30 degrees even in the heat of summer. This was because it is the home of major hydropower dams. We had to leave early in the morning and be sure to make it half way before the first surge of the morning. This kayaking trip included the most beautiful scenery. From the emerald rocks at the bottom to the tree tops above we had our breath taken away. If you like kayaking or if you just want to try it once this is the place to do it.

I was disappointed I couldn’t stay in the water longer than 30 seconds before I lost feeling in my toes, but it definitely didn’t ruin my trip. I would like to try the Buffalo River just to enjoy swimming, even if the scenery doesn’t live up to that of White River.

Leave a comment