traveling

San Antonio, TX.

San Antonio is in south central Texas that included quite the commute for me and my friends. My first visit was with my Spanish Club for a school trip scheduled on my 16th birthday. I had such a great time I loaded up the car on my 18th birthday complete with my 3 best friends and we went back. Hoping to experience more of the city than we did on a school trip we had high expectations.

An 8 hour drive easily turned to 10 with all the traffic congestion, which leads me to tip #1… Always plan for delays, especially in Texas. We weren’t crunched for time so we enjoyed the radio and each others company.

A trip to San Antonio is not complete until you visit the River-walk, and it’s smart to plan that visit around dinner or lunch. There are many nice, elegant restaurants but there are also more relaxed atmospheres available such as Rain forest Cafe, or an atmosphere completely different than you’ve ever experienced at Dick’s Last Resort. TIP: Don’t visit Dick’s if you’re easily angered or can’t take a joke. Everything the server does is at the customers expense. At night the river-walk is lit at your feet and by strings of lights hung overhead. It’s a very relaxing place to take a stroll, especially at night. Also available are River-walk boat rides!

 

Leave a comment